Past Champions: 1998 Brian Swartzlander... 1999 Brian Swartzlander... 2000 Rodney Beltz/Jeff Hoffman... 2001 Dave Murdick... 2002 Ron Smoker... 2003 Ron Smoker... 2004 Ron Smoker... 2005 Rex King... 2006 Rex King, Sr. ... 2007 Russell King... 2008 Brian Swartzlander... 2009 Rex King, Sr. ... 2010 Rex King, Sr. ... 2011 Rex King, Sr. ... 2012 Brian Weaver... 2013 Chad Brachmann... 2014 Rex King, Jr. ... 2015 Rex King, Sr. ...2016 Erick Rudolph... and our 2017 Champion Erick Rudolph
Hope everyone is getting ready for the             upcoming season!

In just 4 short weeks the Modified Tour will be competing in its first race of the 2018 season at Tyler County Speedway.  We hope all our race teams are getting ready and will be on hand for the first of 13 events we have planned for this season. 

Some of our rules have changed for 2018 and they have been updated online.  Please check them out before the first race.

We would like to invite all 358 Modified teams to compete with us this year and hope all our regular drivers are back and ready for a great year of racing!  We hope to see everyone on Saturday, April 14th at Tyler County Speedway!

The 2018 schedule is shaping up nicely with 13 Races on the schedule and possibly a couple of more in the works.  Please check back at for updates on our schedule!

Tentative 2018  Modified Tour Schedule 

Saturday April 14, 2018 ...................Tyler County Speedway, Middlebourne, WV
                                                               (Rain date- April 21st)
Saturday, April 28, 2018...................Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH
Saturday, May  26, 2018 ..................Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH
Sunday,    May 27, 2018...................Eriez Speedway, Erie, PA
Saturday, June 23, 2018...................Sharon Speedway,  Hartford, OH
Friday,    June, 29, 2018...................Raceway 7, Conneaut, OH
Saturday, June 30, 2018...................New Stateline Speedway, Busti, NY
Saturday, July 7, 2018......................Lou Blaney Memorial, Sharon Speedway  
Thursday, July 12, 2018...................Expo Speedway Trumbull County Fair, Cortland, OH
Friday, July 20, 2018........................Lernerville Speedway, Sarver, PA
Saturday July 21, 2018.....................Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH
Saturday, August 25, 2018...............Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH
Friday, August 31, 2018...................Thunder Mountain Speedway, Brookville, PA
This is the tentative schedule so far. Check back for further updates. 

Erick Rudolph Honored as BRP Modified Tour Champion for the 2nd year in a Row

By: Pam Baker

November 11, 2017, The BRP Modified Tour honored their top 20 drivers in points at their 20th year Annual Banquet at the Brandy Springs Community Center in Mercer, PA on Saturday night.  Over 125 people were in attendance for the event where they saw Erick Rudolph crowned the Champion of the Modified Tour for the second year in a row.  Over $30,000 in point fund money, perfect attendance money and contingencies were distributed to the drivers for the nine race series.

 Erick Rudolph had a banner year with the Modified Tour in 2017 winning eight out of the nine events held on the schedule. The only other driver to pick up a win was Rex King, Jr. who won opening night at Mercer Raceway Park. Rudolph then started his winning streak picking up wins at Tyler County Speedway, Bradford Speedway, two races at Stateline Speedway, Little Valley Speedway, Expo Speedway, Mercer Raceway Park and McKean County Speedway.  Erick was awarded $4,000 for the Championship along with receiving $500 for Perfect Attendance.

  Finishing second in points to Rudolph was Rex King, Jr. followed by his father, Rex King, Sr.  Fourth in points was Rick Regalski followed by Small Block driver, Kyle Fink in fifth. Sixth through tenth in points went to Tyler Willard who made the long tow every week from St. Catherine's, Ontario, Canada to compete with the Modified Tour. Seventh place went to JR McGinley with eighth position to Chris Haines.  Randy Chrysler finished ninth with a tie for tenth position between Garrett Krummert and Rod Laskey.  

  Rounding out the top twenty were Steve Barr, Shawn Kozar, Kevin Hoffman, Dave Murdick, Mark Frankhouser, Skip Moore, Tom Glenn, Mat Williamson and Ray Bliss.

  In 2017 the Modified Tour rewarded the drivers who had perfect attendance with a $500 cash bonus.  Those drivers receiving the bonus were Erick Rudolph, Rex King, Jr., Rex King, Sr., Rick Regalski, Kyle Fink, Tyler Willard, JR McGinley, Chris Haines, Rod Laskey, Steve Barr and Shawn Kozar.

  Along with the cash payoff to the drivers each driver received a $25 gift certificate from Big Daddy's Speed Center in Grove City, PA along with a free sheet of aluminum sponsored by Wrisco Aluminum. 

 Former board member, Debbie Oyler passed away several years ago and the Modified Tour has been giving an award to a special driver who displays a smiling personality despite adversity at the track.  Debbie always had a smile on her face and brought out the best in everyone that she was around.  This years award went to Shawn Kozar and he was presented with a brand new helmet sponsored by Racequip.  The Rookie of the Year Award went to Rod Laskey who made the move up to the Modified division this year racing for car owner Chris Haines.  Rod received a free pair of racing shoes compliments of Racequip. Other special awards went to Erick Rudolph, Rodney Beltz, Rick Regalski and Dave Murdick.

  The 2018 schedule is shaping up nicely with six shows at Sharon Speedway.  The dates for those shows will be April 28th, May 26th, June 23rd, July 7th which will be the Lou Blaney Memorial race, July 21st and August 25th.  We will also be returning to Stateline Speedway on Saturday, June 30th. The rest of the schedule will be forthcoming and you can check us out on our website at

Our first race is April 14, 2018 at Tyler County Speedway.


The next Meeting of the Modified Tour is scheduled for April 11th at King's Restaurant in Franklin, PA.  Dinner will be at 6:30 pm with the meeting immediately following.  Everyone is welcome to attend the open session of the meeting.


Who We Are

The Modified Tour Inc. racing series is a non-profit organization established to give the V-8 Modifieds in the Western Pennsylvania/ Eastern Ohio area a chance to compete with one another for a higher purse structure and for a point fund for the scheduled events. Started in 1998 by Tim Engles, Lon and Pam Baker and Randy Myers the Modified Tour has had great success at bringing the local cars together at various speedways in Western Pennsylvania, Ohio, New York, West Virginia and Canada.