BRP Modified Tour Closes Our 2021 Season by Honoring Chad Brachmann as Series Champion

Posted by The Modified Tour Inc. on November 14, 2021 at 7:20 PM

BRP Modified Tour Closes Our 2021 Season by Honoring Chad Brachmann as Series Champion


By: Pam Baker


Marble, PA…… 11/13/2021……The 2021 BRP Modified Tour Racing season came to a close on Saturday night as Chad Brachmann was crowned the 2021 BRP Modified Tour Champion. Over $32,000 in cash and prizes were distributed to the top 20 point drivers in the series.


The BRP Modified Tour series ended up with 19 events on the schedule. There were 15 races completed with three rained out and another canceled.


Chad Brachmann and Rex King, Jr. had quite the battle during the season and when it was all over at Lernerville Speedway in October, Brachmann beat King, Jr. by one point. Brachmann made the long tow every race from Sanborn, NY to compete with the BRP Modified Tour during the season. Brachmann was presented a check for $4,000 for the championship and an additional $500 for perfect attendance of all 15 races. In addition he received a Hoosier Tire Championship jacket along with a beautiful metal wall hanging of his car.


Every driver in attendance received a gift certificate for a sheet of Wrisco Aluminum, a $25 Big Daddy’s Gift Certificate and also a $75 Gift Certificate from Frankland Racing Supply. Door prizes were distributed as well as Chinese Auction items. The 50/50 was received by Christine Conners. The top 11 drivers with perfect attendance received a bonus of $500 for supporting the entire season of the BRP Modified Tour.


Special awards that were distributed were: Hard Charger Award – Chad Brachmann with a total of 61 passing points; Hard Luck Award to Steve Slater; Most Improved Award to Mark Frankhouser; Rick Hall Memorial Award to Steve Barr and the Debbie Oyler Memorial Award went to Eric Gabany. Other special awards that were presented by Racequip went to Shawn Kozar who won a brand new Racequip helmet; Rex King, Jr. who won a pair of Racequip shoes and Dave Murdick who won a pair of Racequip gloves.


Rex King, Sr. was awarded a brand new 2022X Bicknell Racing Products chassis kit valued at $6,285 at the season ending race at Lernerville Speedway. A reverse draw was held in front of the grandstands with the 11 perfect attendance drivers eligible for the draw. It was announced at the banquet that Bicknell Racing Products will be back on board in 2022 with their sponsorship of a 2023X Bicknell Chassis to the drivers that have perfect attendance in 2022.


Rex King, Jr. finished second in points ahead his father Rex King, Sr. in third. Fourth place went to Brad Rapp with Dave Murdick fifth. Sixth place went to Rick Regalski over Garrett Krummert, Steve Slater, Steve Barr, Mark Frankhouser, Eric Gabany, Shawn Kozar, Rodney Beltz and Kyle Fink. Rounding out the top twenty in points were Shawn Fleeger, Paul Kot, Jim Rasey, Chris Rudolph and Jeremiah Shingledecker.


After the awards presentation was over Chad Brachmann had a prize for two different drivers in attendance and decided that the best way to determine a winner was by playing Bingo.So, the drivers were each given two bingo cards and they played Bingo. The first winner to call Bingo was Eric Gabany. He received a completed body kit worth $1,000 donated by MadSkins Racecar Bodies and Sunflowers of Sanborn both from Sanborn, NY. The second place winner was a tie between Brad Rapp and Dave Murdick. To determine the tie breaker, they drew another number and whoever had it on their card would be declared the winner. The lucky winner of the outer body kit worth $550 was Dave Murdick.


New for the 2022 season which will be the BRP Modified Tour’s 25th Anniversary season purses will be increased across the board. The $2,000 to win purse will increase to $2,500 in honor of our 25th year. The starting feature positions will drop to 24 from 26 based on our 2021 car counts. Redraws will find the top three in each heat going to the redraw or a maximum of 12 positions or half the field.


The point system will see more emphasis on the features instead of the heat races. Heat race points will start at 6 and drop to 1 through all positions. The feature points will start at 50, drop two for each position back to 4. There will still be 20 show up points awarded for each race and at the end of the season 100 perfect attendance points will be given to all drivers with perfect attendance. The BRP Modified Tour will once again pay $500 to each driver at the end of the series that has perfect attendance.


The schedule for 2022 is a work in progress and has not been finalized as of yet. However; it has always been our vision to schedule 8 to 10 races and with our 25th Anniversary season upon us, we would like to hold a “Special Event” at the end of our series to honor our drivers. We are in the process of contacting our local tracks to see who might be interested in partnering with us for this endeavor. More information on the schedule and our exciting “25th Anniversary” season will be forthcoming so please stay tuned to our Facebook and Web Site at www.themodifiedtourinc.com for more details.


The BRP Modified Tour Racing Series is excited about our upcoming 25th Anniversary season and are working hard to put together events throughout the season to make 2022 a Special Season for drivers and our fans.


The BRP Modified Tour racing series is a non-profit organization established to give Big Block Modifieds in the Western Pennsylvania/ Eastern Ohio area a chance to compete with one another for a higher purse structure and for a point fund for the scheduled events, started in 1998 by Tim Engles, Lon and Pam Baker and Randy Myers. The BRP Modified Tour has had great success at bringing regional cars together at various speedways in Western Pennsylvania, Ohio, New York, West Virginia and Canada. We would like to thank the following sponsors for their support of our organization. Bicknell Racing Products (24-year Sponsor), Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, Bazell Race Fuels/Sunoco, Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Eperthener Auto Wrecking, Frankland Racing Supply, Hall’s Safety Equipment (24-year Sponsor), King Bros. (24-year Sponsor), McCandless Ford, McCool’s Signs and Graphics, Moore’s Auto Body, Racequip Safety Equipment, Rockhouse Bar and Grill, Slippery Rock Sportswear, and Wrisco Industries.

Categories: None