Rex King, Jr. Captures his 2nd Win of the BRP Modified Tour Racing Series Schedule at Lernerville Speedway

Posted by The Modified Tour Inc. on August 7, 2021 at 11:50 PM

By: Pam Baker


August 6, 2021…..Marble, PA…….On a beautiful August evening Rex King, Jr. worked his way to the front of the field from his fifth starting position to capture his second BRP Modified Tour feature of 2021 on Friday night at Lernerville Speedway.


There were 27 cars registered in the pit area for the first of two events at “The Action Track”, Lernerville Speedway. Rex King, Sr. and Chad Brachmann, through the luck of the draw in front of the fans in the grandstands, brought the field to the drop of the green flag. Rex King, Sr. had the momentum going to beat Brachmann to the first turn and was able to lead the first laps before Brachmann made the pass coming off of turn two for the lead. Brachmann was only able to hold the lead for two more laps and on lap seven, King, Sr. was able to wrestle his way past Brachmann for the lead once again. On lap ten Brian Swartzlander was able to make his way into second and by this time King, Sr. was entering heavy lapped traffic. The first caution waved on lap thirteen for a spinning Jim Rasey. The field regrouped for a double file restart with King, Sr. leading the way. However; on lap fifteen Rex King, Jr. had made his way into second past Swartzlander and using the very bottom of the speedway was able to make the pass on his father coming off turn four. A caution on lap 27 would slow the pace once again as Paul Kot spun in turn four. On the restart Brian Swartzlander came to stop of the speedway, so the following single file restart found King, Jr. bringing the field down to the green and going on for the win. Following King, Jr. across the line was Garrett Krummert followed by Chad Brachmann, Eric Gabany ,who started eleventh in the field, finished fourth ahead of Dave Murdick who came from the seventeen starting position. Heats were won by Rex King, Sr., Garrett Krummert and Rex King, Jr.


Bob Oliver of Competition Carburetion presented $50 for the Fastest Lap Award which went to Brian Swartzlander. Nick Chevrolet provided $100 to Rodney Beltz for the Hard Luck Award.




Feature Finish: Rex King, Jr., Garrett Krummert, Chad Brachmann, Eric Gabany, Dave Murdick, John Mollick, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Rex King, Sr., Colton Walters, JR McGinley, Brad Rapp, Steve Feder, Steve Slater, Rick Regalski, Steve Barr, Doug Fleeger, Shawn Kozar, Kevin Long, Ryan Riffe, Mark Frankhouser, Brian Swartzlander, Paul Kot, Rodney Beltz, Jim Rasey, Kevin Green, Mike Dougherty – DNS, Rodney Beltz – DNS

Categories: None