Erick Rudolph Honored as BRP Modified Tour Champion for the 2nd year in a Row

Posted by Pam Baker on November 13, 2017 at 9:30 PM
By: Pam Baker November 11, 2017. The BRP Modified Tour honored their top 20 drivers in points at their 20th year Annual Banquet at the Brandy Springs Community Center in Mercer, PA on Saturday night. Over 125 people were in attendance for the event where they saw Erick Rudolph crowned the Champion of the Modified Tour for the second year in a row. Over $30,000 in point fund money, perfect attendance money and contingencies were distributed to the drivers for the nine race series. Erick Rudolph had a banner year with the Modified Tour in 2017 winning eight out of the nine events held on the schedule. The only other driver to pick up a win was Rex King, Jr. who won opening night at Mercer Raceway Park. Rudolph then started his winning streak picking up wins at Tyler County Speedway, Bradford Speedway, two races at Stateline Speedway, Little Valley Speedway, Expo Speedway, Mercer Raceway Park and McKean County Speedway. Erick was awarded $4,000 for the Championship along with receiving $500 for Perfect Attendance. Finishing second in points to Rudolph was Rex King, Jr. followed by his father, Rex King, Sr. Fourth in points was Rick Regalski followed by Small Block driver, Kyle Fink in fifth. Sixth through tenth in points went to Tyler Willard, who made the long tow every week from St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada to compete with the Modified Tour. Seventh place went to JR McGinley with eighth position to Chris Haines. Randy Chrysler finished ninth with a tie for tenth position between Garrett Krummert and Rod Laskey.Rounding out the top twenty were Steve Barr, Shawn Kozar, Kevin Hoffman, Dave Murdick, Mark Frankhouser, Skip Moore, Tom Glenn, Mat Williamson and Ray Bliss. In 2017 the Modified Tour rewarded the drivers who had perfect attendance with a $500 cash bonus. Those drivers receiving the bonus were Erick Rudolph, Rex King, Jr., Rex King, Sr., Rick Regalski, Kyle Fink, Tyler Willard, JR McGinley, Chris Haines, Rod Laskey, Steve Barr and Shawn Kozar. Along with the cash payoff to the drivers, each driver received a $25 gift certificate from Big Daddys Speed Center in Grove City, PA along with a free sheet of aluminum sponsored by Wrisco Aluminum. Former board member Debbie Oyler passed away several years ago and the Modified Tour has been giving an award to a special driver who displays a smiling personality despite adversity at the track. Debbie always had a smile on her face and brought out the best in everyone that she was around. This years award went to Shawn Kozar and he was presented with a brand new helmet sponsored by Racequip. The Rookie of the Year Award went to Rod Laskey who made the move up to the Modified division this year racing for car owner Chris Haines. Rod received a free pair of racing shoes compliments of Racequip. Other special awards went to Erick Rudolph, Rodney Beltz, Rick Regalski and Dave Murdick. The 2018 schedule is shaping up nicely with six shows at Sharon Speedway. The dates for those shows will be April 28th, May 26th, June 23rd, July 7th, which will be the Lou Blaney Memorial race, July 21st and August 25th. We will also be returning to Stateline Speedway on Saturday, June 30th. The rest of the schedule will be forthcoming and you can check us out on our website at ModifiedTour, Inc. Racing Series 2017 384 Hemlock Drive Marble, PA 16334 814-229-3837

Categories: None