Posted by Pam Baker on June 25, 2017 at 6:05 PM


Busti, NY June 24, 2017– The BRP Modified Tour (Modified Tour Inc.) returned to the New Stateline Speedway as part of the Open Wheel Madness Night. 23 modifieds were in the pits on the breezy Saturday night. Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, NY continues on a hot streak, picking up his third win in a row on the Modified Tour.


After picking up a heat race wins, Tyler Willard of Fonthill, Ontario, Canada and Randy Chrysler of Lewiston, NY made up the front row for the 35-lap, $2500 to win feature. Chrysler would get the early lead, only to be challenged and overtaken by his teammate, Rudolph, in the first five laps. Rudolph would open up the gap to about seven car lengths, and would start to approach lap traffic by lap ten. Rex King Jr, who started in 15th, moved to just outside the top ten on lap 10. The top five would be Rudolph, Chrysler, Willard, Jimmy Holden, and Chris Haines in fifth, with Jeremiah Shingledecker close behind in sixth.

The top five of Rudolph, Chrysler, Willard, Holden and Haines would hold through twenty laps as the leaders were working through heavy lap traffic. JR McGinley, using the low line, was able to get around Skip Moore for the seventh spot as J. Shingedecker continued to work on Haines for fifth. Willard had moved up to the bumper of Chrysler to battle for second.

The first caution would come out on lap 25 as the 38DD of Jason Sines slows on the front stretch. The lead that Rudolph had opened up, would be eliminated with the caution. On the restart he would have Chrysler to his outside, and Willard and Haines behind them.

Problems on the restart as Skip Moore and Rex King Jr, who was second in points coming into the night, would end up stopped in turn two. King Jr would need to be taken to the pits on the hook while Moore rejoined the tail of the field.

It would be ten laps to go when the green flag flew again. J. Shingledecker working hard on Willard for third. Rick Regalski and Kyle Fink had a good battle going for the last few laps for the tenth spot. The race would go caution free to the end, with Erick Rudolph picking up his third feature win in a row on the tour. Chrysler, Willard, J. Shingledecker and Holden rounded out the top five at the checkers.

The Modified Tour will visit Little Valley Speedway next, on Monday, July 3rd.

Unofficial Results:

Heat 1 results: 1. 25R Erick Rudolph 2. 35H Chris Haines 3. 96B Jerimiah Shingledecker 4. 65 Rex King Sr 5. 3K Shawn Kozar 6. 03 Mark Frankhouser

Heat 2 results: 1. 21K Randy Chrysler 2. 61 Dave Murdick 3. 66 JR McGinley 4. 29 Garrett Krummert 5. 83T Tom Glenn 6. 25B St4eve Barr

Heat 3 results: 1. 00H Kevin Hoffman 2. 17M Skip Moore 3. Rod Laskey 4. 66F Kyle Fink 5. 73MD Travis Shingledecker 6. 68H Tom Holden

Heat 4 results: 1. 777 Tyler Willard 2. 28H Jimmy Holden 3. 13 Rick Regalski 4. 165 Rex King Jr 5. 38DD Jason Sines

Feature results: 1. 25R Erick Rudolph 2. 21K Randy Chrysler 3. 777 Tyler Willard 4. 96B Jerimiah Shingledecker 5. 28H Jimmy Holden 6. 66 JR McGinley 7. 35H Chris Haines 8. 65 Rex King Sr 9. 66 Kyle Fink 10. 35R Rod Laskey 11. 13 Rick Regalski 12. 61 Dave Murdick 13. 29 Garrett Krummert 14. 73MD Travis Shingledecker 15. 83T Tom Glenn 16. 25B Steve Barr 17. 68H Tom Holden 18. 03 Mark Frankhouser 19. 17M Skip Moore 20. 165 Rex King Jr 21. 38DD Jason Sines 22. 00H Kevin Hoffman 23. Shawn Kozar (DNS)

5M Farms Hard Charger Award Winner: Kyle Fink

The Modified Tour, Inc is a nonprofit organization that started in 1998. We are proud to be partnered with Bicknell Racing Products, Hoosier Race Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels, Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Inc., Engles Trucking, Hall’s Safety Equipment, King Brothers Feed & Supply, McCool’s Signs and Graphics, RaceQuip, Slippery Rock Sportswear, Wrisco Industries, Inc., and Engles Leasing.

The schedule, rules, and all Tour information can be found on our website We can also be found on Facebook (The Modified Tour Inc.) and on Twitter (@ModifiedTourInc).

Categories: None