Garrett Krummert Picks Up Feature Win at Hummingbird Speedway

Posted by The Modified Tour Inc. on June 5, 2021 at 1:50 PM



Pam Baker


Marble, PA….6/5/2021….The original race for the season at Hummingbird Speedway was rained out on May 29th due to cold, rainy weather, but the make-up event brought sunny blue skies and warm temperatures. Garrett Krummert showed the rest of the field what it is like to have a great car on a beautifully prepared race track as he picked up the feature win from the sixth starting position.


By luck of the redraw on the front straightaway in front of the fans at Hummingbird Speedway, Dave Murdick and Rex King, Jr. brought the twenty-car field around to the drop of the green flag. Murdick was able to get the lead coming off the fourth turn on the first lap. A caution after lap two was completed for a spin in turn four that collected Steve Slater, JR McGinley, Steve Barr and Nathan McDowell regrouped the field for the restart. Rex King, Jr. was on his game and took the lead away on lap three before the caution flew once again for Paul Kot who came to a stop on the back stretch after losing his brakes.


When the race resumed King was the leader and Krummert made the pass on Murdick for second. This duo raced side by side for several laps before Krummert was able to make a sweeping pass coming off of turn three to get the lead on lap fourteen.


Meanwhile while this was taking place, Brad Rapp who started in fifth was moving to the front and took over third place on the fourteen lap. He then began the real battle for second position with King, Jr. and even though lapped traffic started to play an important role, kept his cool and took second away on lap twenty-four.


Once Krummert was out front, he cruised to an easy victory over Brad Rapp who had his best race with the BRP Modified Tour in quite some time. Rex King, Jr. finished third with Rex King, Sr. fourth and Chad Brachmann rounded out the top five. Heat races were won by Rex King, Jr., Chad Brachmann and Brad Rapp.


Coming up next on the BRP Modified Tour schedule will be Bedford Speedway on Sunday, June 13th and then the Rick Hall Memorial Race will be next on Saturday, June 19th at Michaels Mercer Raceway.


Feature Finish: Garrett Krummert, Brad Rapp, Rex King, Jr., Rex King, Sr., Chad Brachmann, Dave Murdick, Rick Regalski, Tony Pangrazio, Kyle Fink, Mike Dougherty, Chris Rudolph, Shawn Kozar, Mark Frankhouser, John Venuto, Rodney Beltz, Steve Slater, Nathan McDowell, Paul Kot, JR McGinley, Steve Barr, Eric Gabany – DNS



Categories: None