Erick Rudolph Makes an Unexpected Trip to Sharon Speedway and Collects the Win

Posted by Pam Baker on July 25, 2020 at 9:00 PM

Erick Rudolph Makes an Unexpected Trip to Sharon Speedway and Collects the Win in the Lou Blaney Memorial!


By: Pam Baker



Marble, PA …. July 11, 2020…. Erick Rudolph had plans on attending Land of Legends Speedway on Saturday night, but Mother Nature changed his mind. With the Canandaigua, NY track cancelling early, this left several race teams with the opportunity to join the BRP Modified Tour at Sharon Speedway for the running of the 12th Annual Lou Blaney Memorial Race, including Rudolph. Thirty-nine cars were on hand for the event with nine cars making the haul from the state of New York.


By luck of the draw the front row for the start of the 35-lap feature found Eric Gabany and Brian Swartzlander leading the pack of 26 cars to the drop of the green flag. Before a lap could be completed the yellow flew when Kevin Hoffman, Dave Reges, Chris Rudolph and Phil Vigneri, III all came together in the second turn. No one was injured and everyone was able to restart.


Once the green flew again, Brian Swartzlander took command of the race with Gabany, Garrett Krummert and Michael Maresca in tow. The race went green to lap 12 when the caution flew for Colton Walters and Maresca. On the restart, Krummert who had worked his way into second was able to take the lead away from Swartzlander and by this time, eleventh place starter, Erick Rudolph was in third. Another caution on lap sixteen for Dave Murdick grouped the field together once again with Krummert in the lead and Rudolph in second.


The caution flew again on lap seventeen for Steve Slater and on lap nineteen Rudolph used the high side of the track to make the pass on Krummert and never looked back to pick up his third BRP Modified Tour race in four events and his first $2,000 Lou Blaney Memorial race.


Finishing behind Rudolph was Krummert, Swartzlander and Rex King, Jr. who started in the fourteenth position. Brad Rapp had a great run coming from the twelfth starting position to finish fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Jim Rasey, Ryan Susice, Greg Martin who had to run the B-Main to qualify for the feature and started twenty-first, Rex King, Sr. and Phil Vigneri, III who started twenty-third in the field.


Heat races were won by Rex King, Sr., Erick Rudolph, Chad Brachmann and Garrett Krummert. The B-Main was won by Greg Martin.


The BRP Modified Tour will be heading to Thunder Mountain Speedway for their next event on Friday, July 24th. Thunder Mountain Speedway is located just off of the Brookville, PA exit off I-80.



BRP Big-Block Modified Tour: Erick Rudolph, Garrett Krummert, Brian Swartzlander, Rex King, Jr., Brad Rapp, Jim Rasey, Ryan Susice, Greg Martin, Rex King, Sr., Phil Vigneri III, Dave Murdick, Chad Brachmann, Rick Regalski, Jr., Steve Feder, Rick Richner, Steve Slater, Steve Barr, Mark Frankhouser, Dave Reges, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Kevin Hoffman, Rodney Beltz, Eric Gabany, Michael Maresca, Colton Walters, Chris Rudolph (32).


DNQ: D.J. Schrader, Max Smoker, Tony Pangrazio, Brandon Michaud, J.R. McGinley, Shawn Kozar, Don Blaney, Randy Chronister, Dillon Barr, John Venuto, Ryan Riffe, Paul Kot, and Russell Morseman III.

Categories: None