Posted by Pam Baker on April 19, 2019 at 11:15 AM
Unofficial Results: Mercer, PA April 13, 2019â?? It took a second try, but finally the weather cooperated to get in the 2019 season opener for the BRP Modified Tour at Michaels Mercer Raceway. It was a good showing in the pits with 28 cars looking to grab the first win of the season on the Tour. At the end of the 35-lap feature, it was Rex King Jr., the 2018 BRP Modified Tour Champion, seeing the checkers first. After the top-12 redraw in front of the crowd, it was King Jr. and Lonny Riggs starting on the front row. When the green flag dropped it was King Jr. who darted to the front. It was 1 lap in the books when we saw the first caution flag fly for the 29E of Erik Martin spinning and stopping in turn 4. The 17M of Skip Moore would head to the pits. King, Jr. would grab the lead once again when the green flag came back out and he would open up a gap over 2nd place Lonny Riggs who was getting a challenge from Jim Rasey in the 32. We would see two cautions while trying to complete lap 6. Before the cautions, we were seeing a great battle for positions 3rd through 6th, as the drivers were all bunched up. While King Jr. started to gap the next few cars, battles were tightening up throughout the pack. Brad Rapp and Rex King Sr. battle side by side for fourth. Will Thomas moved up to the fifth spot. By lap 11 King Sr. was up beside Riggs to try to take over second. The top four cars would stretch out and separate themselves from the rest of the pack. A little further back in the pack Dave Murdick and Jimmy Holden put on a great battle for position as the leader was getting into lapped traffic. As they started to get into lapped traffic the Kings held the top two spots, but the distance between them would start to shrink. Rapp was also using that traffic to gain ground on the 58 of Riggs with Will Thomas and Jeremiah Shingledecker running right behind them. On lap 26, Murdick and Richard Whitney would tangle and Murdick was taken back to the pits on the hook. On the restart Rapp would have issues in turn two, Shingledecker and Hoffman would also be involved. All drivers were in the top 7 when the wreck occurred. When it went back to green, King Sr. was trying to gain some ground on his son but got a little sideways on the backstretch. On the next lap King Sr. would have issues in turn two; Lonny Riggs and Will Thomas would be collected as well. King, Sr. would be able to get back out on the track after a quick visit to the pits. This really changed up the top five running order. The top five now would be King Jr., Holden, Krummert, Regalski and Fink. With a couple of laps of green flag racing in the book, the battle now was for second as Krummert was closing in on Holden. The leader, King Jr., would open up a half a straightaway lead on the rest of the pack. The final caution came on lap 34 as Shawn Kozar would spin, creating a green white checker situation. On the last lap dash, King Jr. would be able to hold off all other challengers. King, Jr. would be followed by Holden, Krummert, Regalski, and Fink across the line. Ron's Lawn Service was the provider of the $100 for the Hard Charger of the race. Picking up the money, was Shawn Kozar, having gained fourteen positions during the race. The next race for the BRP modified tour will be this Saturday April 20th at Tyler County Speedway in Heat 1 results: 1. 58 Lonny Riggs 2. 9 Will Thomas III 3. 28H Jimmy Holden 4. 19W Richard Whitney 5. 66F Kyle Fink 6. 13 Rick Regalski 7. 61 Dave Murdick 8.20J Jordan Eck 9. 74 Kevin Green 10. 69 Tom Mattocks (DNS) Heat 2 results: 1. 37MD Jeremiah Shingledecker 2. 165 Rex King Jr. 3. 32 Jim Rasey 4. 00 Kevin Hoffman 5. 35H Chris Haines 6. 25B Steve Barr 7. 88* Shawn Fleeger 8. 93X Max Smoker 9. 3K Shawn Kozar (DNF) Heat 3 results: 1. 65 Rex King 2. 11R Brad Rapp 3. 29 Garrett Krummert 4. 83 John Venuto 5. 83T Tom Glenn 6. 66M JR McGinley 7. 17M Skip Moore 8. 96B Bob Warren 9. 29E Erik Martin Unofficial Feature Results: 1. Rex King Jr. 2. Jimmy Holden 3. Garrett Krummert 4. Rick Regalski 5. Kyle Fink 6. Kevin Hoffman 7. Chris Haines 8. Rex King 9. Shawn Fleeger 10. John Venuto 11. Max Smoker 12. Shawn Kozar 13. Lonny Riggs 14. Will Thomas 15. Brad Rapp 16. Jeremiah Shingledecker 17. Dave Murdick 18. JR McGinley 19. Richard Whitney 20. Jordan Eck 21. Jim Rasey 22. Kevin Green 23. Tom Glenn 24. Steve Barr 25. Bob Warren 26. Erik Martin 27. Skip Moore 28. Tom Mattocks (DNS) The Modified Tour, Inc is a nonprofit organization, started in 1998.and We are proud to be partnered with our Series Sponsors: Bicknell Racing Products, Hoosier Race Tires, Bazell Oil providing the official fuel of Sunoco Race Fuels the Official Race Fuel of the BRP Modified Tour. We thank our Associate Sponsors: Big Daddyâ??s Speed Center, Inc., Hallâ??s Safety Equipment, King Brothers Feed & Supply, McCoolâ??s Signs and Graphics, RaceQuip, Slippery Rock Sportswear, Wrisco Industries, Inc., McCandless Ford, K. Hoffman Door, The Rockhouse Bar and Grill, Eperthener's Auto Wrecking, Moore's Auto Body and X Factor Racing Bodies and BCR Racing Supplies. The schedule, rules, and all Tour information can be found on our website We can also be found on Facebook (The Modified Tour Inc.) and on twitter (@ModifiedTourInc).

Categories: None