Jim Rasey captures the BRP Modified Tour Rick Hall Memorial Race at Tri City Raceway

Posted by Pam Baker on December 14, 2020 at 3:45 AM



By: Pam Baker



August 30, 2020……Marble, PA …… Jim Rasey captured his first BRP Modified Tour race of the 2020 season on the night which he honored two special people. First his sponsor, George Poschner, Jr. who passed away during the week and second the late Rick Hall who passed away from cancer on November 11, 2019.


The family of Rick Hall was in attendance at this special race which honored our former BRP Modified Tour board member, our Race Director over the past few years, a race car driver, a business man owning both Big Daddy’s Speed Center and Hall’s Safety Equipment in Grove City, PA and last of all a friend to all. Rick was taken from us way too early, but he fought a great battle right up to the end.


There were 34 cars registered in the pit area and Tri City Raceway promoter, Merle Black decided that he would start all cars in the feature. When feature time came, the drivers brought their cars out to the speedway for a driver introduction session and then a group picture. Unfortunately, JR McGinley was unable to make the call due to ignition problems in his Ryder Racing owned machine. Thirty-three cars paced the field, and using the missing man formation thrilled the fans with their four-abreast formation before the start of the feature. History was made as this was the largest starting field of Big Block Modifieds ever to start in Western PA.


When the green flag dropped Jim Rasey and Chad Brachmann led the full field to the green flag, but before a completed lap could go down in the record books Brian Swartzlander spun in turn four in front of the field. The red flag was displayed and several cars sustained damage in the accident including Rick Regalski who flipped over the top of the Swartzlander machine. Regalski was helped to the ambulance by the EMT’s, but would come back out onto the track eight laps down to run several laps before his crew called him back to the pit area. Other drivers involved in the accident were Steve Slater, Dave Murdick, Eric Gabany and Erick Rudolph. Murdick and Gabany were able to restart while Swartzlander, Rudolph and Slater were towed to the pit area.


The green flag waved for the second start of the race and Jim Rasey took off into the lead ahead of Brachmann, Rex King, Jr. and Garrett Krummert. The caution flew on lap eight for Shawn Kozar who spun in turn four. On the restart, Rasey once again took command of the race and within five laps started encountering lapped traffic. Rasey worked his way through the lapped cars and had stretched out a four car length lead before the caution flew once again on lap twenty-one when the lights on the front stretch went out.


Once the lights came back up, two laps were completed before the caution flew once again for Tom Holden who lost a driveshaft. The race resumed, with Rasey in the lead, but once again the caution flew for Jeremiah Shingledecker who stopped on the track in turn two.


The final ten laps were run caution free with Rasey in command the entire time. He went on to pick up the win. Rex King, Jr. who started in seventh position finished second ahead of


Chad Brachmann, Garrett Krummert and Rex King, Sr. Brad Rapp finished sixth ahead of Phil Vigneri, III, Paul Kot, Robbie Johnston and Dave Murdick. Heats were won by Jim Rasey, Rick Regalski, Chad Brachmann and Phil Vigneri, III.


Rick Hall’s car number when he drove a Modified was B-4, so we presented some special awards for this event with the first being $250 from the BRP Modified Tour for the driver who was in 4th place at the halfway point of the feature. That award went to Rex King, Sr. The second award was $200 for the driver that finished 4th in the feature, which went to Garrett Krummert. $100 went to the driver who had Hard Luck and that award went to Rick Regalski. The Hard Charger award of $100 went to Mark Frankhouser who started in the 32nd position and finished 17th advancing 14 positions during the feature. Every driver that started the race was guaranteed at least $200 to start.


The final race of the 2020 BRP Modified Tour season will be held on September 5, 2020 at Hummingbird Speedway. This is the first ever appearance by the BRP Modified Tour at Hummingbird Speedway and the drivers are excited to run at this track as it has a great history behind the speedway. We will also be doing the reverse draw for the nineteen drivers that hold perfect attendance in front of the fans at Hummingbird for the 2020 Bicknell Chassis.



Feature Finish: Jim Rasey, Rex King, Jr., Chad Brachmann, Garrett Krummert, Rex King, Sr., Brad Rapp, Phil Vigneri, III, Paul Kot, Robbie Johnston, Dave Murdick, Eric Gabany, Steve Feder, Chris Rudolph, Rick Richner, Shawn Kozar, Richard Whitney, Mark Frankhouser, Kevin Green, Max Smoker, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Tom Holden, Kevin Hoffman, Clyde Gump, Rodney Beltz, Dillon Barr, Rick Regalski, Ray Bliss, Thomas Urey, Greg Martin, Steve Barr, Brian Swartzlander, Erick Rudolph, Steve Slater, JR McGinley – DNS.



Categories: None